STUC LGBT+ Workers' Committee

LGBT+ banner

LGBT+ Workers' Committee

STUC LGBT+ committee 2019/20

Willie Docherty UNISON (CHAIR)

Jenny Douglas UNITE

Stewart Wakelam-Munro UNITE

Sally Wilson-Logue CWU

Kris Hendry PCS

Daniel Forrest USDAW

Eileen Allardyce USDAW

Scott Gorman-Cochrane USDAW

Thomas Granger GMB

Chrissy McKeag UNISON

Steven Sorley EIS

Kate Wells GMB

The STUC LGBT+ Workers’ Committee carries out a range of work to tackle homophobia and to promote equality for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender people in Scotland, both in the workplace and in society. The LGBT+ Workers' Committee is elected at the Annual STUC LGBT+ Worker's Conference. The motion-based conference determines the priorities of the Committee for the year ahead. There are currently two reserved seat on the STUC General Council, and the STUC LGBT+ conference can nominate these representatives. These representatives, along with the Committee’s wider engagement with the General Council allows for LGBT+ equality to be mainstreamed into the wider work of the STUC. The LGBT+ Workers' Committee comprises of 12 members and is accountable to the annual STUC LGBT+ Workers' Conference. The work plan of the Committee is determined following discussions by the Committee on the motions agreed at Conference and takes account of the wider policies of the STUC as a whole.

Committee Priorities

Committee Priorities The priorities for the LGBT+ Workers’ Committee for the year ahead include • LGBT+ Sexual Harassment at Work • LGBT+ Mental Health • Battling a Transphobic Society and tackling homophobic hate crime

For more information contact Yvonne Stewart, STUC Assistant General Secretary, at or Shona Scott, STUC Events and Communications Team, at


Educate Agitate Organise
A Just Scotland

Scottish Union Learning