STUC Women's Committee

Who are the Women's Committee?

The STUC Women’s Committee is elected each year at the Annual STUC Women’s Conference. The Committee members for 2016/17 are:

Lorna Binnie, Falkirk TUC
Andrea Bradley, EIS
Brenda Carson, GMB Scotland
Anne Dean, GMB Scotland
Eileen Dinning, UNISON
Tricia Donnelly, Glasgow TUC
Elaine Dougall, Unite the Union
Annette Drylie, GMB Scotland
Sharon Edwards, PCS
Debbie Figures, Unite the Union
Isabel Fyfe, Usdaw
Mary Jane Herbison, RMT
Colleen Murray, FBU
Jane Peckham, NASUWT
Davena Rankin, UNISON
Fiona Steele, Aegis the Union
Joyce Stevenson, CWU
Margaret Wotherspoon, Community

Annette Drylie, GMB Scotland, was elected Chair of the STUC Women’s Committee for 2016/17.

Standing Orders Committee for the 2017 STUC Women’s Conference:

Irene Clark, Unite the Union
Mary Finn, GMB Scotland
Katrina Murray, UNISON

The Secretary to the Committee is Ann Henderson 07875 208167

To mark the extended release of "I, Daniel Blake" across Scotland in 2016, this is an exclusive We Are All Daniel Blake speech video featuring women from across Scottish politics and activism.

Campaigns and Priorities

The work priorities this year include:

• campaigns on public services

• women and employment

• tackling low pay

• the impact of welfare reform

• childcare

• challenging violence against women

• health and safety in the workplace

• campaigning for 50/50 representation for women and men

• occupational segregation

• supporting women’s rights on sexual health, including abortion rights working with young women

• campaigning to reduce the numbers of women imprisoned in Scotland and

• international solidarity campaigns including supporting women Fair Trade coffee farmers, and working with Palestinian women.

Weekend Schools

We run Women’s Weekend Training Schools on different subjects. The last Women’s Committee School we held was on Saturday/Sunday 19/20 September 2015 in the Novotel, Pitt Street, Glasgow, on the topic Women and Leadership/Women into Public Life”. The programme was recently revised to take account of requests for increased support for trade union women in pursuing leadership roles, whether in public life or within their own organisations.

2016 STUC Women’s Conference

The Annual STUC Women’s Conference took place on Friday 28 and Saturday 29th October 2016 in the Concert Hall, Perth. The theme of the Conference was "Women: Many Roles, Many Barriers”. Delegates were elected through each affiliated trade union and Trades Union Council.

Download a Speech by Conference Chair, Davena Rankin from the 2016 Women's Conference.

Download the 2016 STUC Women's Conference Decisions.

2016 STUC Women’s Conference Photos

View and download photos from the 2016 STUC Women's Conference 2016 STUC Women's Conference Photos

View and download photos from the 2016 STUC Women's Conference.


Contact Details

If you are interested in any of the STUC Women’s Committee campaigns, or would like to be added to our mailing list, contact Helen Martin, Deputy General Secretary, at the STUC or phone 0141 337 8100. follow us on twitter @STUCwomen

fringe leaflet
insp women
STUC women