STUC Black Workers’ Committee

The Black Workers’ Committee carries out a wide range of work on tackling racial discrimination and promoting race equality. The Black Workers’ Committee is elected at the Annual STUC Black Workers’ Conference. The motion-based Conference helps determine the priorities of the Black Workers’ Committee for its work plan for the coming year. The Committee’s liaison with the General Council, and Black Workers’ representation through two seats on the General Council, allows for race equality issues to be mainstreamed into the wider work of the STUC.

The Black Workers’ Committee comprises 12 members and is accountable to the annual Black Workers’ Conference. The annual work plan of the Committee is determined following discussion by the Committee on the motions agreed at Conference and the priorities of the STUC as a whole.

The Committee members for 2016/17 are:

• Gozie Joe Adigwe, Community

• Usman Ali, GMB

• Michael Anderson, USDAW

• Davidson Chademana, Fife & District TUC

• Layla Roxanne Hill, NUJ

• Khadija Mohammed, EIS

• Satnam Ner, Prospect

• Paul Patmore, ASLEF

• Sukneet Sangha, Unite the Union

• Peter Sharma, UNISON

• Rakiya Suleiman, UNISON

• Sofi Taylor, Unite the Union

STUC General Council members of the STUC Black Workers’ Committee are:

• Patricia Rowland, UNISON

• Scot Walker, Unite the Union

The Secretary to the Committee is Helen Martin

Mental Health Seminar

The STUC Black Workers’ Committee and Women’s Committee are working together to deliver an all-day seminar on mental health. The event will host workshops from a variety of organisations as well as interactive sessions where attendees will have opportunities to discuss specific topics.

The seminar will take place on Saturday 2 September from 10am - 4pm in the STUC Centre. Childcare will be provided if required, please note that childcare places must be requested before Friday 18 August.

Lunch and refreshments will be provided and are sponsored by Aegis the Union / GMB Scotland / PCS Scotland.

Book your place here

Contact the STUC Black Workers’ Committee

You can contact the STUC Black Workers’ Committee through the STUC on 0141 337 8100 or by emailing

There is a Better Way Blog

Better Way Blog

the blog of the STUC There is a Better Way campaign.


union news logo

Union News

up-to-date, authoritative news and analysis for trade union members


Visit the Scottish Union Learning website

Scottish Union Learning

Scottish Union Learning is run by unions for unions.


Thompsons - Scotland

Thompsons - Scotland

Thompsons Scotland